Posted by: kubiakl | September 12, 2008

Irony

I am not a hipster.

It’s not because I’m anti-hipster really, I just don’t have it in me.  Dressing like a hipster seems uncomfortable and I can’t understand enjoying something ironically.

Which is the whole point of my post today.  Why is it cool to listen to George Jones if you are wearing skinny jeans but not if you’re wearing Justin boots?  Oh, I see.  Juxtaposition suddenly gives it that edgy, urban outsider feel.  Otherwise you’re just some hillbilly stereotype listening to “Bartender’s Blues”.  But don’t you dare actually enjoy it!  That takes all the irony away.

How many songs are there?  Okay, scratch that.  How many bands are there?  There has to be at least one band for every two people just here in Austin (seriously – everybody knows somebody in a band), so I’m going to guess there are more bands than you could ever listen to in your lifetime.  Why waste your time on one you don’t actually like for the sake of image?

When I listen to Jerry Jeff Walker, it’s because I love “L.A. Freeway”.  When I listen to N.W.A., it’s because I love “Straight Outta Compton”.  When I listen to Gloria Estefan, it’s because someone has hijacked my freakin’ stereo.

Come with me on this people.  Enjoy things for what they are, not for how different they are from you.  Life’s too short for irony.

Responses

  1. I’m glad you’re not anti-hipster. That could cause some problems 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

