Posted by: kubiakl | September 16, 2008

Sorry Amigo

If you’ve never seen the webcomic Toothpaste For Dinner, you should fix that now.

Toothpaste For Dinner

Sometimes the comics hit a little close to home.  This one is a favorite of mine:

I feel sorry for the guy who had to live with me after I picked up the guitar in college.  Especially when I found that inexpensive 100 watt amp on Ebay.

Just to give you a frame of reference – a 100 watt amp can power two 4×12 speaker cabinets loudly enough to play a large noisy club.  We lived in a small quiet townhouse.  I couldn’t turn the volume up past two without rattling windows.

It probably would have been better if I had been playing for years and knew more than the intro riffs to a handful of songs.  It probably would have been better if this 100 watt amp had a good sound.  It probably would have been better if I wasn’t always plugged in and playing.

Instead, I launched a non-stop assault on my roomate’s ears with the first few bars of “Texas Flood” through an amp that had all the warm tone of an AM radio station.

Sorry amigo.

These days I use a small wattage tube amp, know a few more songs, and (most importantly) live alone.  I’m also more inclined to pick up an acoustic (see the Epiphone post) rather than plug in an electric.  So far no neighbors have complained and my girlfriend has learned to drown me out with her iPod.  But there are times when I plug in my Strat, put a little overdrive on it, and rip into a little Stevie Ray.  If I listen closely enough I can still hear my roomate…

“Will you please PUT DOWN THE DAMN GUITAR?!?”

Ah, good times.

Responses

  1. With musical instruments, the only way to get better is practice, practice, practice. Roommates should invest in soundproofing, or at least earplugs. At least you aren’t a drummer!

    I’m glad you still play frequently and get so much enjoyment out of it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

