Posted by: kubiakl | September 24, 2008

If I Was Sick

In case you didn’t figure it out from the URL, I’m from Texas.  So is Guy Forsyth.

It took me a while to catch on to Forsyth.  I had seen him briefly at Antone’s Blues Festival in 1999.  Then I caught a free show at Ruta Maya’s coffeehouse in 2005.  But what really grabbed me was when he sat in with the Asylum Street Spankers at Ruta Maya a year later.

He wasn’t officially a Spanker then, but he had been a founding member of the group.  They announced that he had just come from winning the Austin Music Award for Best Male Vocalist.  When he sang Robert Johnson’s “If I Had Possession Over Judgement Day”, I understood why.

After that I started checking out more of his solo work.  One of my favorites is “Beautiful Mistake” from the album “Love Songs: For and Against”:

This is “If I Was Sick” from the album “Can You Live Without”:

If Guy comes to your town, you owe it to yourself to check him out.

Leave a Reply

Categories

