Posted by: kubiakl | September 26, 2008

Superchunk

It happens to everybody.  There’s no shame in it.  Sometimes you just get a song stuck in your head and have to listen to it over and over again.

That happened to me last week.  Here’s the song:

I felt cheated by society when I first heard Superchunk.  They formed in 1989 and nobody told me about them until 2008.  That’s NINETEEN YEARS of ignorance, all of which could have been saved by someone saying “Hey man, there’s this band you need to hear…”

Maybe the timing was good though.  I’m not sure that the younger me would have appreciated Superchunk the way I do now.  Their official label is “indie rock”, but that doesn’t say much.  I call it slacker punk.  Upbeat, with a sense of humor, and a laid back feel despite the driving power chords.  Younger me liked serious punk – Pennywise, Samiam, and Face To Face.  Angry disenfranchised punk.  He probably would have shrugged off Superchunk.

Older me can’t.  The first time I saw Superchunk’s name was in a Chuck Klosterman book (Killing Yourself To Live: 85% Of A True Story).  The sentence said, “This North Carolina oxygen is delicious; no wonder those slack motherfuckers in Superchunk always seemed so happy.”  I thought that was an odd way to describe a group, and it made me think they were a jam band I’d missed out on.

Turns out that “Slack Motherfucker” was voted the 19th best song of the 90’s by Spin Magazine.

I spent my teen years in the 90’s.  I thought of myself as fairly culturally aware.  Guess not, since I missed out on these guys.

I’ve tried to analyze why “Hyper Enough” has caught my attention so much.  There isn’t a lyric that stands out, no jaw-dropping guitar parts, and there’s no personal connection to the song.  So why have I listened to it over forty times this week?

No kidding.  It’s been played every time I’ve been in my truck and many times at home.

Maybe it doesn’t need analyzing.  Sometimes the reason for liking a song is definable, sometimes it isn’t.

Check out more Superchunk at their website:

Superchunk Home Page

Leave a Reply

Categories

