Posted by: kubiakl | September 30, 2008

One Unamused SOB

Monday I was sick.  No work, woohoo, right?

That feeling lasted until around 1:00 in the afternoon.  I was reading on my couch, everything was nice and comfortable, with the temperature in my apartment set to 85 to keep away the fever chills.  The book was great (Little Children, by Tom Perrotta, if you’re curious) and I was just about to fall asleep when I hear a noise against the window.  “Click, click”, as if birds were stopping by to say hello.  I ignored it and kept reading.  The noise persisted and I started to notice a regularity to it.  Then I realized it wasn’t just a “click, click”.  It was “click, click, hummmm”.

“What a strange sound for a bird to make,” I though to myself.  I went to the window to investigate, only to discover the noise was coming from inside my apartment.  Next to the window.  Somewhere in the vicinity of my desk…

My computer.  Oh sweet Lord, my computer.  It had fallen asleep, never to wake again, the victim of a hard disk failure.  Not that I was so attached to the computer, per se.  I mean, we’d had some good times and some bad times (that virus it contracted really put a strain on our relationship), but a new computer is easier to find than a hippie at Bonnaroo.  No, it wasn’t the computer.  It was what the computer contained.

My music.

Each carefully catalogued album.  Each bootleg performance.  Each rare, unreleased track.  Gone.

Gone like Jerry Garcia.  Gone like Jimi Hendrix.  Gone like the lingering note of the last concert you saw.  It’s all still in your head but you can’t really access it.  When I broke this news to my girlfriend, she said, “You did back up your data, right?”

She’s much smarter than I am.

So now I have a new laptop and no music.  Some of it is easy to replace, I’ll just have to take the time to rip the CDs that are in my truck.  Some of it will never be replaced, since I don’t know where I found it in the first place.  And truthfully, some of it I don’t care to replace since I never listened to it anyway (I’m looking at you, Radiohead).

Avoid making the same mistake I did.  Back up your music files, because computers (much like goldfish) die pretty easily.

Otherwise you’ll be one unamused S.O.B. too.

Leave a Reply

Categories

