Posted by: kubiakl | November 24, 2008

Beautiful Gravel

I have a rough singing voice.  It’s true, I can admit it, and I’m okay with it.  I just wish it was beautifully rough like John Hiatt’s.

Keep your pitch perfect singers, your smooth voices, and the ones who can hold a note for an hour.  I’ll take the honesty that comes across in a voice like Hiatt’s any day.  It draws me into his songs, like a raconteur telling a story.

“Master Of Disaster” was the song that really hooked me.  I first heard it on KGSR.  My ears picked up when they said the North Mississippi Allstars had backed him on the album, so I turned up the radio.

I was stunned.  It’s heartbreaking.  The acoustic version is amazing as well:

The “… gets tangled in his Telecaster” line is my favorite.  There have been points in my life when I’ve been so down I couldn’t string together three notes on a guitar, it really does feel like you get tangled up in the strings.

One of his most well known songs is “Cry Love”, which is a little more upbeat:

“Buffalo River Home” is another favorite:

His career has spanned 36 years since he started as a songwriter in 1972, so there’s a lot of history I won’t go into.  If you want to check out his official site, it’s here:

John Hiatt Official Website

Leave a Reply

Categories

