Posted by: kubiakl | January 12, 2009

Heroes

I was looking at the traffic for this blog and saw that someone found it by searching for “Luther Dickinson guitar and pedals”.  Which turned my mind to when I was first buying a guitar.

Stevie Ray Vaughan was probably the biggest reason I started playing, followed closely by Eric Johnson and Jimi Hendrix.  So when I went looking for a guitar I searched for one like my heroes played – a Fender Strat.

fender-american-strat

If you play guitar you probably have a similar story.  There was some guitarist you really liked, so you saw what kind of guitar they played and bought one that was close to it.

Unless you have the time and money to invest in trying out tons of gear it’s actually a good idea to search for what your favorite guitarist uses.  After all, you like them for their tone – the easiest way to get a similar tone is to use similar gear.  Of course you’ll never sound exactly like anyone else because everyone has different fingers.  You could hand me an old Strat, a Marshall half stack, and a Fuzz Face and I still wouldn’t sound like Hendrix.  But it’s a good way to find your own sound.  The reason I own a Tube Driver pedal is because Eric Johnson has one, but I still sound nothing like him.

For the curious individual, I did find what Luther Dickinson uses.  His electric guitars are a few Gibson Les Paul classics, an Epiphone Elitist Les Paul, and an Epiphone Flying V.  For pedals he uses a Dunlop 95Q Crybaby wah, Boss OD-3 Overdrive, Boss DD-6 Digital Delay, and an Ernie Ball volume pedal with a Peterson Strobostomp tuner.  His amps are Marshalls, a 1959SLP reissue and a 1987x reissue pushing Marshall 4×12 straight cabinets, and a Peavey 5150 and XXX.  His main acoustic is an Epiphone Masterbilt EF-500M.

A great website that has a ton of information on the tone secrets of the greats is Guitar Geek.  You can search for an artist and it will diagram their setup, including the signal chain.  Some will also give you information on the strings and picks used.

So for the curious person who stopped by, you’re welcome.  And for those looking for more information like this, stay tuned – I think that the setups of some of my favorite guitarists will be featured from time to time.

Leave a Reply

Categories

