Posted by: kubiakl | February 6, 2009

Clash Of The Titans

How much would you have loved to be here?

Two of the best guitarists ever playing a great Freddie King song.  Does it get any better?  I’ve heard a few different versions of this song and loved every one.  The first time I heard it was on the G3 CD, from the tour that Joe Satriani, Eric Johnson, and Steve Vai did together.  The whole CD was great but my favorites were two of the songs they jammed together on, “Going Down” and “My Guitar Wants To Kill Your Mama”:

Now I love the Frank Zappa original of “My Guitar…”, but this version absolutely blows me away.  My favorite part is Eric Johnson’s solo.

But back to “Goin’ Down”.  The next version I heard was Bernard Allison’s, and it had a much funkier groove than the G3 version.  I forget which album it was on and I’m too lazy to go look it up.  Feel free to do so yourselves, I doubt you’ll be disappointed.

A few years ago I saw Buddy Guy tear through the song right here in Austin.  That whole night was a mind blowing experience – he brought out Jimmie Vaughan and Pinetop Perkins (the piano player for Muddy Waters).  How cool is that?  You’re such a legend that even your sidemen are music gods.  I had one of my rare starstruck moments (if you read the post about the Arc Angels, it tells of my other one) when he wandered through the crowd while singing and stood a foot from me.  Here was the guy who influenced Hendrix, Stevie Ray, the Rolling Stones, Led Zeppelin… how could I not be in awe a little bit?  Especially since I was close enough to touch his guitar.  (I didn’t, thankfully.  Pretty sure he wouldn’t have liked that.)

“Going Down” is kind of like “Rollin’ And Tumblin'”, it’s just one of those songs that keeps popping up.  But I’m not complaining.  Some songs get covered to death, and some need covered more.  I think “Going Down” is always a welcome song to hear.

Leave a Reply

Categories

