Posted by: kubiakl | June 24, 2009

Farm

What is it about listening to music in a vehicle that really gives it an impact?  There was a scene in the movie “Once” where a band had just finished recording an album and the producer (or engineer, can’t remember) drove the band around to listen to the final mixes.

I am currently dog-sitting for a friend of mine while they are out of town.  It’s no imposition – as a teacher my summer days are free and I love dogs.  So this morning I set my alarm for 6:00 a.m. to be over there for feeding time (there are four dogs, slightly too many for my apartment).  I made sure the new Dinosaur Jr. album was on my iPod, grabbed a book and my guitar, and headed out.

“Farm” is an easy album to listen to.  I’ll admit I can’t give you a song-by-song review, because I’ve only listened to it there and back, but my first impression is that it’s good.  A lot of people are calling it a return to their heavier, “Where You Been?”-era sound.  “Beyond” (their last album, released in 2007) was the first to feature the original lineup since 1988 but carried on the sound the band had evolved to on “Hand It Over”.  (For the record – “Beyond” is an incredible album that gets played heavily in my truck/home.)

So go check it out.  Don’t worry, I’ll still be here when you get back.

Leave a Reply

Categories

