Posted by: kubiakl | November 9, 2009

Screamin’ Cheetah Wheelies

Some guy on my freshman dorm hall once mentioned the Screamin’ Cheetah Wheelies to me.  I don’t know if I ever thanked him for that, but I should have.

Take two really great guitar players (Bob Watkins and Rick White).  Add a stellar vocalist/songwriter (Mike Farris).  Layer that on top of a solid rhythm section (Steve Burgess and Terry Thomas) and mix into a Southern funk/rock/boogie/jam band.

“One Big Drop Of Water”

Their name comes from a Far Side cartoon and, like Slobberbone, probably hindered them a little.  But it shouldn’t have.

“25 Miles”

They have that Southern rock sound that’s rooted in blues, somewhat similar to the Black Crowes.  Very energetic, yet laid back.  A feat few manage to accomplish.

“Shakin’ The Blues”

The band parted ways in the early 2000’s, and Mike Farris has given up his rock star ways to do gospel now.  I managed to catch a little of his set at last year’s ACL and it was good… but no Wheelies.  The other band members are now with the band Stack.

If you haven’t given these guys a listen, I can’t recommend them highly enough.  Especially the “Live Vol. 1 & 2” and “Lamanamanumi” live albums.  And I’ll close this with one of my favorite Wheelies song, “Hello From Venus”:

Leave a Reply

Categories

