Posted by: kubiakl | March 17, 2010

For St. Pat

I don’t usually put holiday wishes or music on here but I’m going to make an exception today.  It’s not because I’m Irish or care about drinking green beer, it’s just a good excuse for me to put up a few songs I like.

The Dropkick Murphys aren’t from Ireland, but they’re Boston Irish – which seems about as close as you can get in the States.  I don’t think I need to explain a lot about them because they’ve been around for a long time and are pretty well known.  Imagine if you crossed a hardcore punk band with a traditional Irish band.  That’s the Murphys.

Spicy McHaggis Jig

Fields Of Athenry

The Dirty Glass

The Pogues are from England and play a more traditional style of Irish music.  (Not traditional really, just more traditional than the Dropkick Murphys).  They’ve been around in various incarnations for almost 30 years.  The name was originally Pogue Mahone, which is an Anglicisation of the Irish for “kiss my arse”.  How can you not love a band that does that?

Dirty Old Town

Streams Of Whiskey

And I’ll leave you with another Murphys song, something to keep in mind as you hit the Jamesons tonight:

Happy St. Patrick’s Day.

Responses

  1. One of my favourite bands I discovered after college. Thanks for including them in your reviews! And yes, we all went to the pub and had Guinness on the day. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

