Posted by: kubiakl | April 26, 2010

That Little Ol’ Band From Texas

I consider myself a lucky guy some times.  There was the convergence story, where the Supersuckers, Texas BBQ and Beer, and my birthday all came together.  There was the Superchunk show at SXSW, where we managed to waltz in.  Then there was yesterday.

Drummer Guy texted me earlier in the week and asked if I wanted to see a show on Sunday.  A blues trio from the Houston area.  Specifically, these guys:

ZZ Top.  Is there anyone who hasn’t heard at least some of their songs?

Not if you grew up in Texas.  Three men, three chords, and a whole lotta boogie.  Over 40 years of it and still going strong.  The 40 years shows when you hear them play together – it’s like hearing one organism.  And as a guitar fanatic I have to repeat what has often been said – Billy Gibbons is one of the greatest blues guitarists who has ever lived.  Hell, even Jimi Hendrix was a fan of his first band, the Moving Sidewalks (who also opened for the 13th Floor Elevators, Roky Erickson’s band – see how everything ties together?).

ZZ Top was actually one of the first really big shows I went to over ten years ago.  They played the Frank Erwin Center, with the reconstituted Lynyrd Skynyrd opening.  It was great, but I was so far removed from the action – way up in the cheap seats.

This time was at The (new) Backyard, a venue a ways outside of Austin.  And it was perfect.  The opening band was Jonathan Tylor and The Northern Lights, who reminded me a lot of the Screamin’ Cheetah Wheelies and the Black Crowes.  They had that laid back Southern groove rock going:

Seriously, doesn’t he sound kind of like a cross between Mike Farris and Chris Robinson?  Or as I like to call it, “awesome”.

Of course ZZ Top played a blistering show.  I was surprised that they stuck mostly to their back catalog, but I guess when you have their back catalog you can do that.  And watching Billy Gibbons tear up his Billy-Bo is always awe-inspiring.

In a little less than a month, Slobberbone is playing a reunion show here in Austin.  Superchunk, ZZ Top, and Slobberbone all near each other?

I consider myself a lucky guy some times.

Responses

  1. […] How was your Saturday?  If you spent it in New Braunfels, probably as kickass as mine.  Ray Wylie Hubbard held his Grit ‘n’ Groove festival at the Whitewater Amphitheater (beautiful place for a music venue, by the way) and had some amazing guests.  Jonathan Tyler and the Northern Lights played an amazing acoustic set, as did Chris Robinson of the Black Crowes.  I think I enjoyed Jonathan Tyler more this time than when they opened for ZZ Top. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

