Posted by: kubiakl | September 17, 2011

Spread The Word

I’ve talked about the North Mississippi Allstars before and their connection to R.L. Burnside and Junior Kimbrough.  Since first hearing “Shake ‘Em On Down” off the Shake Hands With Shorty album back in college they’re a band that I always try to introduce people to.  And while their newer stuff hasn’t grabbed me quite as much it’s still miles above what most bands put out.

The sad thing is that I never had the chance to see them play.  They would come through town, and for one reason or another I couldn’t make it.  A huge mistake.

Yesterday they played a short set at the ACL Festival and it absolutely blew my mind.  Jammy, bluesy, heavy, and just plain fun.  Luther Dickinson is (as someone else said) the modern day guitar hero.  If you’re interested in guitar music – and if you’re not, I can’t imagine why you’re reading this – you owe it to yourself to check him out.

My favorite moment had to be the acoustic version of “Goin’ Home”, an instrumental jam they do.  Cody Dickinson played some great acoustic guitar while simultaneously keeping the drum beats going with his feet.  I’m sorry, but these guys are clearly not human.  Cody’s electric washboard part was pretty amazing as well.

I’ve seen some great music moments from some legendary bands… but I’m going to be hard pressed to top this one.  It was almost a religious experience – so much energy and such great musicianship.  If they come to your town don’t make an excuse – just GO.

Leave a Reply

Categories

