Posted by: kubiakl | February 5, 2012

New Heights

My shipment of screws came in from Bolt Depot.  They fit perfectly and allowed me to raise the saddles up as high as I needed to get the best mix of tone and playability on my Stratocaster.  Thanks to the longer screws (and raised saddles) my Strat now has an incredible amount of sustain.  Seriously, you can pluck the E string and walk away – it’ll still be vibrating after you’ve grabbed a drink from the fridge.  Fretted notes sustain better as well… it’s just harder to keep holding it while you open a beer.

To recap:  the screws I ordered were Set Screws, Allen, Cup Point, Stainless Steel 18-8, #4-40.  The ones I ended up using were 5/8″, twice as long as the standard screws.  There is a tiny bit of screw head sticking out of the top of the saddle but the next size down (1/2″) was a little too short.  If they ever make a 9/16″ I’m going to order them.

For the high E string I did keep the 1/2″ screws, but the other five saddles got 5/8″.

Anyway, just wanted to say a quick thanks to the folks at Bolt Depot – they shipped everything quickly, and I like the way they labeled the bags clearly.  If you’re in the market for saddle screws I would check here – they even have shorter screws for those of you who complain that your hands are getting cut with your current setup.

I’m very satisfied.  So is my Strat.

Leave a Reply

Categories

