Posted by: kubiakl | April 29, 2012

Saddle Woes Are Over

My Glendale saddles for my Stratocaster came in yesterday.  I spent last evening and some of today adjusting everything back to taste and have to say – I’m impressed.  They sound better than the cast block saddles that were on my American Standard but are structurally better than the bent steel vintage style.

As you can see they are similar to the cast block saddles but made out of steel billet.  Not sure exactly what that means (and I’m too lazy to look it up), but I gather it’s solid steel that’s been milled into shape.

I ended up changing my order after Dale e-mailed and said the nickel plating was taking longer than expected.  The Raw Deal saddles were ready to ship and he was nice enough to allow me to switch.  They look great and I’m kinda glad that the nickel plated didn’t work out for me.  If you want shiny saddles the nickel plated sets should be ready soon.

Anyway, after changing the height adjustment screws out for my super long ones I screwed everything down and restrung.  It didn’t take too long to reset the intonation (after all the rounds I’ve gone with saddles lately I can get it close just by sight), then it was a matter of tweaking everything to balance playability with sound.

And the sound is incredible.  Less dense than the cast block saddles, less airy than the bent steel, just what I was looking for.  The construction is perfect – the screws are held tightly all the way so they can’t angle outwards and cause the problems I was having.  It’s a great mix of the two styles.

If you’ve had problems with the vintage style bent saddles and don’t know what to do, I suggest checking out Glendale’s offerings.  Steel or Brass, nickel plated or Raw Deal, he’s got you covered.  Many thanks to Mr. Clark and I’ll definitely be looking into his Telecaster parts in the future.

Leave a Reply

Categories

