Posted by: kubiakl | August 6, 2012

ProGuitarShop.com

So over the weekend I placed an order with Pro Guitar Shop for a delay pedal (the Mojo Hand FX Recoil if you’re curious).  Like an idiot I didn’t think to check the newsletters they send but this morning noticed they were still having a sale.
A quick phone call (it literally took less than a minute) to ask about having the discount retroactively applied and it was done.  I told the guy my order number and name and he said, “No problem, I’ll get that taken care of.”  That’s pretty awesome customer service.  PGS has a great selection and the prices are as low as you’ll find anywhere else.  You should also sign up for their newsletter – they actually write interesting articles and notify you of new products.

Pro Guitar Shop

While I’m on the subject of newsletters, I also like getting Mojotone.com‘s and Humbucker Music‘s.  Again, good articles and notifications of great products.  Both also have great customer service.

In other news, ever had a problem with your truss rod nut slipping?  Maybe the wrench is a little rounded or maybe the nut has been slightly stripped?  My Highway One Tele has the same problem.  I had been using the American Standard wrench that came with my Strat which is supposed to be the same size.  But from the beginning it always seemed loose, there was too much travel before the wrench gripped the sides.  Eventually that turned into it just slipping right past instead of tightening.

Sure, I was sad.  Best case scenario I thought I’d have to replace the nut (which can be a hassle), worst case is that the truss rod would have to go.  At that point it would probably just be better to buy another neck.  After some reading I came across these:

http://www.stewmac.com/shop/Truss_rods/Wrenches,_hex_keys/Gripper_Truss_Rod_Wrenches.html?actn=100101&xst=3&xsr=3211

They are the Gripper Truss Rod Wrenches at Stewart-Macdonald.  I figured it was worth a few dollars to try before worrying about replacing anything.  The nut only needed just a hair more tightening before it was set where I wanted.  The Grippers have a tapered shaft that goes from slightly undersize to oversize so they can grab the rounded out nuts.

And it worked!  No problems at all, just tightened right up.  The only downside is that, due to the long straight handle on the 1/8″ wrench, you have to remove two of the machine heads to get the right angle.  But that’s just a matter of a couple of screws… much easier than replacing the truss rod nut.  If you have 3-on-a-side tuners it wouldn’t be a problem, just the 6-in-line Fender style machine heads that get in the way.  I did e-mail customer service to ask about the future possibility of a right angle style wrench and they said they’d look into it.

If you’re having problems with your truss rod give them a try.  Sure saved my ass a lot of trouble.

Leave a Reply

Categories

